Thankful

This year we are spending Thanksgiving in our new home. I can’t think of a better place to reflect on all things for which I am thankful.

This, but with snow.

I’m thankful that I was able to buy a house. I’m thankful for the realtor who found our new home and worked like mad to make sure we could finally close on it. I’m thankful that the stress and snafus leading up to the signing of those final papers is finally over.

I’m thankful for the assistance from my parents that made it possible to purchase a house. I’m thankful for the family members that helped us move into our new place in the cold and rain last Friday.

I’m thankful that Philip is adjusting to his new environment. I’m thankful that the dog is, too. I’m thankful that Peter finally has the dishwasher, space in the garage and the unshared driveway that he always wanted.

I’m thankful for the two-car garage that means I don’t have to scrape snow and ice off my car before heading to work. I’m thankful that my commute is now several miles and almost twenty minutes shorter.

I’m thankful to have the holiday off. I’m thankful to spend the day with my boys. I feel a bit guilty about this, but I’m also thankful that our Thanksgiving guests canceled. As much as I’d like for them to visit, I’m thankful to have the chance to get our new place organized. I’m thankful that I’ll have the time to nap and recuperate.

I’m thankful for the memories of Thanksgivings past. And I’m thankful for the chance to make new ones.

Second Blooming

I decided to link up with the Spin Cycle today. One of my NaBloPoMo rowmies, Ginny Maire of Lemon Drop Pie, co-hosts the blog hop with Second Blooming. Each week a theme is announced, and bloggers are invited to put their own spin on it. This week’s theme is “thankful.”

It’s Day 28. I bet you’re thankful that this posting every day thing is almost over.

9 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Your new house is beautiful! I don’t think you should feel guilty at all for being thankful that your guests aren’t coming. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

    Thank you for linking up to The Spin Cycle this week!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on the new house! I hope you’re having warm and cozy Thanksgiving weekend with your boys.

    And I’m thankful that you linked with the Spin Cycle this week!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?