Wrong turn, right house

“This is the place,” I said to Peter.

I recognized the house on the corner lot from the photos in the listing. It had stuck in my mind because of its two-car garage on the lower level and wraparound deck. We pulled into the driveway and parked.

Our realtor did not.

While we waited for her to return to show us the property, I pulled out the printout to review the house’s features. Unlike our realtor who had simply pulled the listings from the MLS that met our criteria and then forwarded them on to us, we had read through the listing and looked at the photos several times. We knew the house by sight while she did not.

I was surprised how long it took for her to return. On the one hand, the street ended in a cul-de-sac. On the other hand, the volume of traffic was considerably higher in this private development since residents were holding their annual fall garage sale weekend. A large home up the street from where we waited seemed to have an especially high volume of vehicles stopped in front of it, including Amish buggies. I figured that our realtor was having a hard time making her way back past the bargain hunters and their parked cars.

Peter and I had got out of the car to nose around the property when our realtor finally returned. “Sorry,” she explained, I didn’t see the sign. And then I saw another place for sale up the street.”

That’s how we ended up NOT buying the corner house but purchasing this one instead.

That door is completely useless.

That door is completely useless, but we are otherwise as pleased as punch about moving into our new home.

I won’t be around the blog much this weekend what with the moving and all. But I had to share the story of how a wrong turn led us to the right house.

10 thoughts on “Wrong turn, right house

  1. That door cracks me up! I hope you have security features installed so that no one falls out the door when they think they’re opening the bathroom door in the middle of the night.

    I was worried when you started talking about your realtor; my parents have been realtors for 30 years and would never do something like that without communicating first to their clients. I’m so glad it worked out well for you. Congrats on the new home!!!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?