#DiverseAThon 2017

When I was sick last week, I read. A lot. Midweek we left the house because we had run out of chicken noodle soup and books.

Now that I’m back at work, my reading time has diminished. That’s disappointing at any time but more so since I just discovered that January 22 – 29, 2017 is the second round of #DiverseAThon. This week-long reading challenge emphasizes reading books by and about diverse humans. It is a celebration of all of the voices in the book universe.

I just so happen to be reading Kindred by Octavia E. Butler this week. I selected it for task #17 of the 2017 Book Riot Read Harder Challenge:  Read a classic by an author of color.

Are you reading a great book that celebrates diversity? Share it in the comments.

Day 23 of Just Jot It January and MicroblogMondays #126

3 thoughts on “#DiverseAThon 2017

  1. I’m not because I’m reading Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld, which is about as white as it comes. A lovely book, but not diverse at all. Luckily there’s other stuff in the TBR pile.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?