Fitness Friday: secret identity

I don’t want to write this post. I’ve put it off because I’ve been sick. I’ve improved since I was diagnosed with an upper respiratory infection but, like most viral infections, the symptoms are lingering. I’m still coughing. I’m still tired. Since my husband and I were kind enough to share the virus with our son, his cold developed into a double ear infection. The three of us take turns coughing. Philip’s coughing wakes him (and me) up at night. So the thought of sitting here blogging about fitness just seems . . . wrong.

But I’ve committed to getting SuperBetter. Part of that journey has been creating a “secret” identity. Why? Well, when one plays a game like World of Warcraft, one picks a race, gender, and class of character to become when exploring and questing. You pick your appearance and name. By becoming a mage, druid, warrior or hunter, you take on abilities that allow you to level up and succeed in the game world.

So it is with playing SuperBetter. Its creator, Jane McGonigal, designs games for a living. This particular game gets played in real life but allows one to use imagination and creativity to achieve goals. McGonigal urges SuperBetter players to become superheroes, complete with a secret identity. That persona is supposed to embody what the player wants to become.

One of my challenges is coming to terms with my body. I don’t want to obsess about my weight but I know that carrying extra pounds is limiting my ability to do all of the things I want to. I don’t want to diet, lose pounds for a while and then gain it all back. I’ve done that. I want to find a lifestyle I can maintain. To do that, I need to pay attention to my body. I need to eat when I’m hungry and drink when I’m thirsty. I need to eat foods that make me feel stronger and more powerful. I can’t fight against my body – I need to honor it and work with it.

That’s why I chose *NCynk as my secret identity. No, I’m not a boy band fan, but music has always been a part of my life. I also enjoy a clever play on words. More importantly, the identity reveals what I want to become: in sync with my body.

So, I didn’t want to write this post but I had to. I listened to my body. It told me it is still recovering but that I had it in me to sit down at the computer for a few minutes to continue my SuperBetter journey. It told me that, I may not feel like exercising my body, but I can still give my brain a workout.

Do you have a secret identity, an alter ego you call on when facing life’s challenges? Share it with us in the comments.

jjj-2017

It’s day 27 of Just Jot It January. My suggested prompt was featured today: incomplete. My quest to be and become *NCynk is certainly not finished, so I take this as a sign to keep on questing to become SuperBetter!

3 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: secret identity

What do you have to say about that?

