2018 Book Riot #ReadHarder Challenge

For the fourth year in a row, I’m undertaking the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge.

Below are the twenty-four tasks for 2018.

  1. A book published posthumously
  2. A book of true crime
  3. A classic of genre fiction (i.e. mystery, sci fi/fantasy, romance)
  4. A comic written and drawn by the same person
  5. A book set in or about one of the five BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China, or South Africa)
  6. A book about nature
  7. A western
  8. A comic written or drawn by a person of color
  9. A book of colonial or postcolonial literature
  10. A romance novel by or about a person of color
  11. A children’s classic published before 1980
  12. A celebrity memoir
  13. An Oprah Book Club selection
  14. A book of social science
  15. A one-sitting book
  16. The first book in a new-to-you YA or middle grade series
  17. A sci fi novel with a female protagonist by a female author
  18. A comic that isn’t published by Marvel, DC, or Image
  19. A book of genre fiction in translation
  20. A book with a cover you hate
  21. A mystery by a person of color or LGBTQ+ author
  22. An essay anthology
  23. A book with a female protagonist over the age of 60
  24. An assigned book you hated (or never finished)

I’ve already completed seven tasks and have three more in progress.

One of the reasons I enjoy this challenge is that I discover new books I might not otherwise based on the recommendations from Book Riot as well as the suggestions from the Goodreads group. I find that I may have already completed a task but another book that fits a category sounds too good to pass up. Unlike last year, I plan on completing every task with at least one book.

If you have any suggestions, please share them in the comments. Better yet, if you love to read, join the challenge with me!

It’s MicroblogMondays #178. 

4 thoughts on “2018 Book Riot #ReadHarder Challenge

  1. If you read about or from South Africa: Nadine Gordimer. Habibi is a good graphic novel written and illustrated by the same person (strong content, though…). New-to-you YA? Maybe Heaphouse from The Iremonger Trilogy? Have you read that one? Edward Carey is the author.

    Like

  2. All the best with your reading challenge. This would be a very tough challenge for me as I am a spontaeous kind of person and could not be so specific.
    dropping by from microblogmondays.

    Like

  3. I’m not sure I have it in me to take on another project this year, but I do like the idea! Good luck. I hope you find some wonderful books, and that you’ll blog about them too! (Or at least know which ones are your favourites.)

    I have some suggestions. One of my favourite books, but quite a big one, is Vikram Seth’s A Suitable Girl. Or any of Rohinton Mistry’s books. Either of those would work for #5. I have to laugh at #20 – A book with a cover you hate. My bookclub used to have annual awards, and one of those was Best Cover. We used to have lively debates/arguments over which book should be the winner. We rarely unanimously agreed, and someone’s favourite would be someone else’s most hated.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?