gawping

While waiting in line at the BMW this morning, I watched a news ticker scroll at the bottom of a television screen. One of the headlines read, “Skygazers gawp at extra bright ‘super moon.'”

Gawp?

I Googled the definition of gawp:

gawp-defI looked up at the moon this morning as I walked the dog. Was I staring? Yes. Openly? Yes. In a stupid or rude manner? No. Since when is admiring nature and a once-in-a-lifetime event to be tagged as stupid?

Gawp.

Maybe this was a typo. Maybe the word the news editor was going for was “gape.” Maybe no one took the time to check the connotation of the word.

All I know for sure is that I gawped away with the best of them.

Day 14 of NanoPoblano/NaBloPoMo as well as #MicroblogMondays 116

 

4 thoughts on “gawping

  1. Yet another word that honestly makes no sense, but has a real meaning. Sort of like Bigly, just larger than Biggerest and slightly smaller than Yuuuuuge. 😀

    Like

  2. I think of gawp as that expression on your face when you’re flabbergasted. Like the thing you are looking at seems so unreal that your mouth drops open.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?