fifteen isn’t fatal

As an angst-ridden teen who dreamed of becoming a writer, I spent most of my time journaling on the minutiae of my day, coming up with pseudonyms (Clio Duvall is one I recall), and thinking up the titles of books I would write: Fifteen Isn’t Fatal; The Suicidal Horse.

I never made it beyond titles. Fiction is not my forte. Creating characters and coming up with plot lines does not come naturally to me. I lived a sheltered life that didn’t offer up much source material beyond typical childhood woes of not being liked and not liking myself. I could find nothing from my own experiences to draw on as a starting point except sadness, hence the depressing titles of books never to be written.

As an adult, I can accept my limitations as a writer. I worry less about not being liked. I’m still working on liking myself. And I can take those previously unused titles and turn them into a blog fodder. So, thanks, childhood self. As I pondered what to write on day fifteen of NanoPoblano, your love of alliteration inspired this post.

 

 

4 thoughts on “fifteen isn’t fatal

  1. I’m also not much of a fiction writer. ♡ but I do love reading your posts. And I’m fascinated by your titles, that would be a fun post on itself. A fun blog challenge too!

    Like

  2. I have a thing for titles – coming up with them, remembering those with catch my eye and brain, and also having an extra affection for movies and books with especially good titles (to me ie.)

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

