#JusJoJan: Motivation

I was going to take a break from the blog today. I wrote and scheduled Friday’s post then created a list of future Friday post ideas. I figured I had done enough jotting, if not publishing, for the day. Plus, I’m under the weather. That’s a good excuse, right?

Then I discovered that today’s optional prompt for Just Jot It January is motivation. Since I’m finally feeling motivated to lose weight, I take this as a sign from the universe. The time is right. What motivates me to get fit now varies. Vanity motivates me: I don’t like how I look. Practicality and frugality motivate: my clothes are getting too tight and I can’t afford to replace them. Motherhood motivates: I need the energy to keep up with my son. Comfort motivates me: chub rub is painful. Pride motivates me: I want to prove to myself and others that I can be strong. Self-preservation motivates me: I need to lose weight or risk diabetes, heart disease or other health problems.

Since catching this cold from my son, I need all the motivation I can get. I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning, but I know it’s too early for setbacks. There can be no excuses about being too sick or too tired. Sure, I’m not going to undertake a strenuous workout, but I’m not going to just lie around all day. As much as I crave comfort foods, my body needs nutrients from fruits and vegetables.

I’m motivated by the images of myself one year from now: slimmer, but probably not yet to my target weight; stronger but with room for improvement; healthier, better prepared to fight the inevitable winter cold.

jjj-2016

Thank you to Aaron Elmore for today’s #JusJoJan prompt. 

One thought on “#JusJoJan: Motivation

  1. I’m with you! I hate feeling uncomfortable not only with my weight but moving it around. Let’s promise to do something good for ourselves tomorrow, shall we? I think I’ll try to have a healthier breakfast. And when I do, I’ll think of you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say about that?