I read like a 16 year old

I took one of those online quizzes the other day. “Can We Guess Your Age Based on the Books You Read?” I took the quiz, unsatisfied by the choices as usual. They aren’t designed for variety. They are designed to funnel you. I answered the best I could with the options I had.

The quiz said I was sixteen.

I chuckled. I don’t feel insulted. Books for sixteen-year-olds (and younger) can be good. There is quality young adult literature out there.

Earlier this year I placed a hold on the audio edition of Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas PynchonIt is on the list of “1001 books you should read before you die.” It would have satisfied task #10 of the Read Harder challenge: read a book published in the decade you were born. (That would be the 1970s in case you were wondering, definitely making me older than sixteen). When I picked up the hold at the library, I discovered the book is thirty-three discs long.

Hey, that’s why they call it a reading challenge, right? I began listening. I enjoy a good story set during World War II but this was definitely not your typical war tale. It was weird. I’m not sure what I was expecting but this book was not it. Then another audiobook I had on hold showed up. Since others were waiting for the newly arrived book, I stopped listening to Pynchon and began the other. I checked out a hardback edition instead.

I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t read it. I read two other books to avoid it. I finally decided to return both editions. I picked up three YA books in replacement. That afternoon I took the quiz.

Sixteen years old? Obviously.

Microblog_Mondays

10 thoughts on “I read like a 16 year old

  1. Gravity’s Rainbow? I too was born in the 1970’s and have read some difficult fiction and non-fiction in my years, however that book was only a handful of books I’d choose never to read again. Not even close to an ideal “page turner.” Kurt Vonnegut on the other hand, I’ve read almost all of his books at least twice and own most of his literary collection (Slaughterhouse-Five is my #1 book).

    Like

  2. Thankfully, I was born in the 60’s, so I can skip Gravity’s Rainbow. 😀

    Definitely checking out the Read Harder challenge – thanks for the tip, Miss Sweet Sixteen!

    Like

  3. I too, thank you for the challenge. Not that I need another, mind you. 😉 But this sounds fun.

    I have taken those quizzes from time to time and yes, way off my actual age.

    Like

  4. I don’t care what age we are, as long as we are reading, right? (I looked up the test and took it – it got my age right. I don’t know if that’s good or bad!)

    Like

  5. perhaps books broaden our vision.. age measures the experiences.. perspectives.. I wonder what age would I be put to that criteria.. ? 🙂

    Like

What do you have to say about that?