Monday Mixtape: what did you promise them?

Ten weeks ago, I swore to my loyal followers that I would post a mixtape every Monday that answered the ultimate question for that week’s yeah write microstory challenge. I promised that the song titles would answer the question.

Today, I’m breaking my promise.

This week’s question is “What did you promise them?” I’m sure there are cool song titles that I could have used for answers (e.g. “Pink Cadillac.” Who wouldn’t want one of those?). But the word promise got stuck in my head. All I could think of were songs with that word in the title or the surrounding lyrics. Since I set the rules, I can break them as easy as a promise. Without further ado, here are this week’s five songs.

“(I Never Promised You a) Rose Garden” by Lynn Anderson

“Promises, Promises” by Naked Eyes

“The Promise” by When in Rome

“Lipstick Promises” by George Ducas

“Promised You a Miracle” by Simple Minds

It’s Day 16 of the NaBloPoMo/Nano Poblano/NoMo challenge!

2 thoughts on “Monday Mixtape: what did you promise them?

    1. Not at all. I found one of them while searching for the video for another. Maybe it’s more sad for me since I might be out of touch with current pop culture. Er, scratch the word “might.”

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

