you and I collide

Things I prepared the night before Thanksgiving:
1. the sweet potatoes
2. a no-bake cheesecake
3. the mashed potatoes
4. the goose egg under my left eye

black eye 003

The Shiner

I came home from work Wednesday and went into Philip’s room. He was sitting on his floor playing. I leaned down to pick something up just as Philip decided to stand. The crown of his head hit my eye socket.

Philip was fine.

My son and I have literally bumped heads before with little consequence for either of us. This was different. I couldn’t believe how much this hurt. I cried. I went out to the kitchen, not sure what to do.

“Did you see Philip?” Peter asked. He had no idea just how closely I had seen Philip. Then he noticed me crying and assessed the damage.

“Oh, you’re going to have a black eye,” he said.

When my sister-in-law arrived for Thanksgiving today, she looked at me. First she was horrified and then she was furious.

“Did my brother hit you? I’ll beat the s*** out of him!” she exclaimed.

I assured her it was really all an accident. Relieved, she and Peter then swapped tales of black eyes they’ve had over the years.  It made me thankful this was my first. I guess you could say Thanksgiving made quite an impression on me this year.

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

12 thoughts on “you and I collide

  1. Oh that’s awful I’m sorry! My daughter once did that great head trick where she was sitting on my lap and then violently threw her head backwards into my mouth and chin and my teeth cut through my bottom lip, and that was extremely bloody, painful, and then swollen. OUCH!

    Like

  2. whoa!!!! Well on the upside you now have a story to tell for many years to come about “that Thanksgiving” Take care and Happy Belated Thanksgiving.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?