Sunday Slideshow: a book he couldn’t put down

Philip was grumpy when I took away his half-finished Father’s Day craft project in the library. I was only trying to be helpful. He saw me putting a Curious George book in our bag, and he wanted to read it RIGHT NOW!  I assumed he couldn’t hold the construction paper and yarn at the same time, so I offered to put them in the bag. There was crying.

That’s why I let Philip hold onto the book when we went to the park across the street. There had been additional tears because I had stopped at the car to drop off our bag before going to the park. I told Philip we were going to play, but he wanted to play at the park RIGHT NOW!

Once at the park, Philip wanted to continue to read his latest Curious George book. Even though it was hard to swing one-handed, he insisted. And then he read on every swing at the park. Even though it scared me that he was climbing the ladder to the slide one-handed, he insisted. And then he went down every slide at the park.

The only thing left for me to do was take these pictures. I guess you could say the book was so good, Philip just couldn’t put it down.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Linking up with the yeah write #166 weekend moonshine grid.

23 thoughts on “Sunday Slideshow: a book he couldn’t put down

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by at my blog. I enjoyed your slideshow here. Let’s hope Philip learns to let go of his book before he learns to drive! Joking aside, reading is so vitally important – you must be so proud. 🙂
    Diana

    Like

  2. I’ve been traveling and unable to read my favorite blogs, but finally, this morning caught up with yours. As always, I’m impressed by your ability to draw your readers into your life quickly and completely so that we really care. I also like the way you construct your posts with leads that draw us in, details and increasing momentum that keep us reading, and endings that carry a powerful “whomp.” Beginning writers could learn a lot from you. I’m glad I found your blog.

    Like

  3. My mom tells me that I was like that, that I had to have a book with me all the time. Not a teddy bear. Not a doll. A book. My kids like reading but not like that. Very cute.

    Like

  4. This is a super sweet post. I can totally relate to not wanting to put a book down because it’s so good.

    Also, I love the slide shows you’ve been adding to your posts. Very impressive! It took me over a year to figure out how to put photos on my blog. :/

    Like

What do you have to say about that?