Autistic people are . . .

  • our neighbors
  • our customers
  • our co-workers
  • our students
  • our classmates
  • our friends
  • our family

Autistic people are blogging. They are advocating for themselves. They are advocating for the autistic people who can’t yet speak for themselves. Or who have been silenced forever.

Autistic people are blogging so that the world knows not only that they exist, but that they have the right to do so.

Autistic people are like my son . . . and autistic people are not like my son

Autistic people are like my son . . . and autistic people are not like my son

Autistic people are like my son. Autistic people are unlike my son. While they may have autism in common, autistic people are diverse in their abilities and their interests, their religions and their beliefs, their strengths and their weaknesses, their loves and their lives.

Don’t believe me? Then don’t take my word for it.

Read the words of autistic people. Autistic people are writing. You should read their words.

****
This post is my contribution to the “Autistic People Are . . .” flash blog. Really-don’t waste your time on my post. Click on the links to learn from autistics themselves.

What do you have to say about that?