Fitness Friday: the power of Power-Ups

Last month I shared the SuperBetter concept of Power-Ups. This is one of the easiest parts of this program. Who doesn’t like doing something that makes you feel stronger or happier?

Yesterday I finished the audio book I’ve been listening to. Knowing I wouldn’t be able to pick up the next audio book I had on hold at my local library until Saturday, I stopped by the library near work to grab a CD. I thought this was a good opportunity to listen to a Broadway musical soundtrack. I’ve challenged myself to listen to forty-one different cast recordings before my next birthday as one of my #Powerof41 tasks.

While browsing, I saw Hamilton: An American Musical. I’ve already listened to it, but I couldn’t resist checking it out again. I justified it by remembering that listening to “My Shot” is one of my Power-Ups. And I needed it. Life has been throwing my family some curve balls. I’ve struggled to stay positive. “My Shot” is an empowering tune and makes me feel like I can conquer the world. I love trying to rap and sing along with it. I listened to it on the way to and from work today. It made me feel better both times.

Listening to other tracks on the album helped, too. “Wait for It” is an amazing song. When I listened to it today, I caught a lyric I hadn’t heard before:

I am the one thing in life I can control

What an important message and one I needed to hear. Life feels out of control. I feel like things are happening to me that I can’t prevent or mitigate. But I can control how I react.

So that’s the power of Power-Ups – they can build many kinds of resilience. I thought I was going to listen to one catchy tune. Instead, I danced and sang along with several. I got an emotional and physical boost. But I also came away with food for thought.

What do you have to say about that?

