Fitness Friday: what is your quest?

Games are fun. Or at least they are supposed to be. The best games start out easy and then increase in difficulty as one builds one’s skills.

That is the premise behind SuperBetter. When I rediscovered the website last fall and then picked up the book, I realized how I could incorporate my #Powerof41 challenges/tasks into the SuperBetter format. In SuperBetter, the tasks are called quests. In addition to my own ideas, I can use the ones on the website or those suggested by friends.

what-is-quest

Alas, I haven’t been questing lately. In fact, I feel like my character died and I’m starting over at Level 1!

not-dead-yet

So, one quest from the site that I’m doing this weekend is called Text Adventure. Here’s the description:

Lazy exercise is all about sneaking a workout into the activities we already do each day.

YOUR QUEST: Make your texting habit work for you by standing up to send your next text message. You can advance your text adventures by standing on one leg and practicing your balance, or jumping while texting (just watch out for those typos!).

I don’t do much texting so I’m going to find another simple activity (checking my email or making a call) during which I will sneak in exercise. I especially want to try the standing on one leg bit.

I challenge you to give lazy exercise a try this weekend. Let me know in the comments if you stood while texting – and whether it was on one foot or two!

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: what is your quest?

  1. I have been “practicing “yoga for almost a year. Let’s say my balance when I started was atrocious. Even for a 53 yo. But in the last 10 months, not only has my flexibility dramatically improved — my ability to balance has inched toward respectability. I’ve never heard of Super Better but I’m going back up and click on the link to find out.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you have to say about that?

