Fitness Friday: excused absence

Remember last Friday how I revealed my secret identity? Remember how I said my superpower would be to become in tune with my body and to listen to what it needs to be happier and healthier? Remember how I said that I had been sick but I was on the road to recovery?

Ha!

Later that night, I woke up with my throat on fire. The doctor had prescribed antibiotics two weeks earlier but, having been scared straight from unnecessary use of pills by a horrifying Frontline episode on drug-resistant bacteria, I hadn’t filled the prescription. Why would I? I had begun to feel better. Until I didn’t.

On Saturday, I decided that antibiotics were my only hope. Unfortunately, they had no affect, even allowing me to pick up conjunctivitis. In both eyes. Yesterday, I returned to the doctor to get a stronger prescription for the upper respiratory infection and drops for my sad, red, gunky eyes.

I’ve been a hot mess.

The doctor told me not to go back to work until Monday. When I told my boss I would be out for the rest of the week, I suggested she torch my desk since it was obviously germ-ridden. (I think she opted for Lysol).

So, this superpower that I seek, to be more aware of my body? That’s obviously going to be a work in progress.

sick-day

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: excused absence

What do you have to say about that?

