in the hallway

Every time I’ve tried to suppress a cough these past two weeks, I’m reminded of my third grade self. I used to get sent to the hallway because I coughed too much. We later discovered I was allergic to dust and mold, both of which poured into the classroom due to the old heating/ventilation system. Boy, were my parents mad when they found out what had been happening. Yet, I still feel guilty when I cough too much.

 

 

It’s day 30 of Just Jot It January and MicroblogMondays #127

that cynking feeling

The tickle in my throat distracted me from the multiplication problem. With mouth closed, I coughed as quietly as possible to relieve the irritation.

The scratching intensified.

I focused again on my workbook, but I couldn’t hold back any longer. I coughed. And then I kept on coughing. Mrs. Wile looked my way, as did my third grade classmates. I knew what she was going to say, so I gathered up my pencil, math homework, and a book.

I was being sent to the hallway.

I don’t remember if there was a chair waiting for me or if I had to take the blue plastic one from my desk. I wasn’t made to stand or sit on the floor since this wasn’t supposed to be punishment. I was disruptive, but not on purpose.

The second floor hallway was deserted. After spending many an afternoon story time here, banished so that…

View original post 280 more words

One thought on “in the hallway

  1. THAT is the most ridiculous reason for sending a kid out of the room. So you should miss instruction because of a somewhat uncontrollable bodily function?

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

