Fitness Friday: SuperBetter

Welcome to the first Fitness Friday of 2017. This year, my posts will be centered around the book SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient — Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigal.  I was inspired to read it a few months ago after reading this post about the book by Mel over at Stirrup Queens.

While reading, I thought to myself, This sounds familiar. I realized I had signed up at SuperBetter website, tried a few quests, didn’t get it, and quit.

In the meantime, McGonigal had written a book about her approach. I checked out a copy from the library and began to understand all of the research and science behind the program. I realized I could incorporate my #powerof41 challenges into it.

I read the book straight through last fall. Now I’m re-reading it (score one for the Read Harder Challenge, too!). Over the course of this year, I’ll report out on my quests and share insights gained through the process of playing.

I’m going to need allies, so I’ll be asking my readers to suggest quests and power-ups in the coming weeks.

Here’s to getting SuperBetter!

jjj-2017

Day 6 of Just Jot It January. Blogging quest complete!

 

3 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: SuperBetter

What do you have to say about that?

