Fitness Friday: pumpkin oatmeal

Pumpkin pie. Pumpkin roll. Pumpkin cookies. I can’t help it: I love all of the pumpkin-flavored baked goods available at this time of year.

However, I’ve decided to bypass these sugar-laden treats this holiday season and eat a healthier option: pumpkin oatmeal. I add a half-cup of pumpkin puree to my old-fashioned oats. After sprinkling cinnamon and adding water or milk, I microwave it for three minutes. Once cooked, I top the bowl with a touch of brown sugar and a handful of chopped pecans. This morning, I threw in some raisins, too. I’m upping the fiber, iron and vitamin content of an already nutritious breakfast.

A few years ago, I added pumpkin to this slow-cooker recipe for baked oatmeal. I was pleased with the results but never attempted it again when my husband complained that our next pot roast tasted like cinnamon.

A fiber-filled day 25! What seasonal treats are you enjoying? 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: pumpkin oatmeal

What do you have to say about that?

