National Play Monopoly Day

It’s day 19 of NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano and it turns out it is also National Play Monopoly Day.

Back in college, my boyfriend and I were visiting a friend during the winter break. The friend developed a migraine as we played. I remember him holding a pack of frozen peas to his forehead, seeking relief. The game seemed like it would never end. I was beginning to tire and I knew I had an hour’s drive home. I finally said, “I quit.” The migraine sufferer said, “You’re kidding.” I wasn’t. I was only regretting that I hadn’t put an end to the game sooner.

For those of you celebrating the day, may no one cheat, may no one get a migraine, and may no jerk quit just when the end is in sight.

Day 19!

 

What do you have to say about that?

