Fitness Friday: the Surgeon General kicked my ass

Do you think I can walk 25,220 more steps today? No?

I didn’t think so either. I guess that means the Surgeon General, Dr. Vivek Murthy, has officially kicked my ass in the Step It Up USA challenge. Over the past two weeks, he logged 153,251 steps. As of my last FitBit Zip sync, I lagged some twenty-five thousand steps behind. Still, I managed to walk the equivalent of 32 times down the National Mall.

For the first week, I was keeping pace with Dr. Murthy. I wasn’t ahead in the step count but I thought I could manage not to embarrass myself. Of course, what’s to be embarrassed about? At least I was walking more than I had last year at this time.

Last week, the gap between the good doctor and me widened. I spent more hours sitting in the car than upright with my feet on the ground. I thought that maybe I wouldn’t bother to report out my results today as I promised to do so two weeks ago. But I’m tired of hiding behind excuses and hiding in general.

So, here’s to you, Dr. Murthy. Nice work on setting an example for the citizens of the USA. Thanks for inspiring me to move as much as I could despite the obstacles.

Are you up for a rematch next year?

Vice Admiral Vivek H. Murthy. Or ass-kicking, walking machine.

Vice Admiral Vivek H. Murthy. Or ass-kicking walking machine.

 

What do you have to say about that?

