Fitness Friday: don’t tell me to get more sleep

In addition to advice on eating less and moving more, many weight loss books/articles/sites also encourage dieters to get plenty of sleep.

Six ways sleep helps you lose weight!

Why sleep is the most important weight loss tool

Why you need to sleep to lose weight

I’ll admit that I have stayed up late to finish a book or watch TV. In those instances, I have had control over my bed time. Most times, however, my sleep schedule is dictated by Philip. For most of the summer, he went to bed at a decent hour and slept through the night. Now that he is transitioning back to school, his sleep is in upheaval.

And so is mine.

I appreciate sleep, I truly do. Everyone looks and feels better when they are well rested. I also understand how being tired can be confused with being hungry. I felt it all day yesterday when Philip woke up at 3:15 am and never went back to sleep. In addition to being grouchy, I wanted all the comfort foods.

When I don’t get a good night’s sleep, I have less energy for exercise. Fatigue affects all of my decisions, include ones related to health.

I’m not looking for pity or suggestions. For everyone who says, “I don’t know how you do it,” I can only say that I do it because I have to. I’m not looking for gold stars. There are many mothers and not-mothers and not-women out there getting by on too little sleep for various reasons.

All I’m asking, internet, is that you keep your click-bait titles about sleep and weight loss away from me. Stop screaming at me about the benefits of sleep. Can’t you tell I’m trying to catch some zzz’s over here?

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: don’t tell me to get more sleep

  1. I just read one of those type of articles before yours. I was about to write a stroppy realise telling them how out of touch they were with mothers but then couldn’t be bothered! You post was right on track. I hope you get a good night’s sleep tonight.

    Like

    1. I have to admit that last night (a month after you commented – sorry!) I stayed up late reading a book. The book was sooo good that it was worth losing some sleep.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

