red dress

I wore my red dress to work today. After rolling out of bed thirty minutes late, walking the dog and showering, I needed a pick-me-up. I needed to wear something that said, “I’m awake!” even if it wasn’t feeling that way. I needed to face Monday with all the power that red offers even if I wasn’t in the mood.

I avoid red. I think it brings out the splotches in my face. I don’t think of myself as someone who wears red. Daring people wear red. Confident women wear red. I don’t claim either of those labels.

I didn’t buy this dress. I would never have even tried it on in a store. It is a hand-me-down from a friend. I can’t remember how long I’ve had it. Knowing that I removed its shoulder pads and wore it when I was pregnant are the two clues that it’s been in my closet for some time.

I have no idea if I’m supposed to dry clean this dress. I just toss it in the washer, throw it in the dryer and hang it up with the rest of my work clothes. Wash and wear.

So, even if the color isn’t me, the dress is. Dated. Practical. Low maintenance.

I’m aspiring to comfortable. One day, I won’t be self-conscious about wearing my secondhand red dress.

Microblog_Mondays

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “red dress

  1. Practical and low-maintenance sounds good to me! “Dated,” that’s in the eyes of the beholder. You can accessorize anything to look fresh (or just not care). I want to see this dress now. I hope it made a good uniform for your day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Comfort and low maintenance ::yes yes:: I don’t do red either save a coiple of gifted tees and a resale shop polo. I don’t even do dresses anymore. Though my workplace does not require uniforms, I am developing iniformity within my wardrobe to lower the maintenance (decisions decisions) even further m

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say about that?

