Children’s Book Week

May 2- 8, 2016 marks the 96th annual Children’s Book Week. This sounds like a great excuse for me to pick up a bunch of fabulously illustrated and delightfully imaginative stories from my local library. You would think I do this all the time since I have a seven-year-old. Unfortunately, he hasn’t quite mastered library etiquette (i.e. don’t tear the pages otherwise Mommy has to buy a torn-up book), so I rely on our stash of used books picked up at sales.

But I might take a chance on borrowing one of my favorite books from my music teaching days, Old Black Fly , which can be sung to the tune of “Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho.” I checked it out a few years ago and either my singing and or the photos made Philip cry. Here’s hoping for a tear-free reading this week.

Microblog_Mondays

What are your favorite children’s books? Let me know in the comments.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Children’s Book Week

  1. Ah, I can recall many fond memories of my three kidlets asking/telling me to stop singing on many different occasions.

    One of our favorites from when they were in single digits (they’re now 21, 18, and 16 – yikes!) was, “The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree.” I still have it sitting on the bookshelf, as a matter of fact. 🙂

    Hope you have a happy, book-filled, tear-free week!

    Like

  2. I love children’s books! My mom worked at a preschool until recently, so she always has plenty of good ones around – including Old Black Fly. I remember it having a lyrical flow to it, but I don’t think I realized what the tune was supposed to be. Makes me want to pick it up again.

    Like

  3. The Thomas the Train books.. Gossie… I like the ones that I have the fondest memories of reading to my children & their reactions…. As for the library etiquette– when my kids were about 6, I was perusing the library stacks when my husband came over: “We have to leave… now…” Apparently my daughter kept opening up the emergency exit door… You would have thought I would have noticed the alarm going off three times…

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

