Fitness Friday: raising the roof

Last night, I sat in the recliner and read a book without a smidgen of guilt. Most evenings, after spending the day working at a desk, I move around the house to meet my daily step goal. I read standing up or try to squeeze in a short workout video before bed. I feel compelled to burn off the extra calories I’m dutifully tracking. Not last night. I had logged over 14,000 steps for the day so I could kick back without hesitation. Not only that, I had completed a practical workout that helped me sleep better last night and for many nights to come.

How did I do that? By moving shingles. Ever since we bought our house in the fall of 2013, we’ve been losing shingles off our roof. The adhesive has worn out so, every time we get 20+ mph winds, shingles pop up or fly off our roof. This always seems to happen at night, so I lie awake worrying about what horrible things are happening to my roof. In the morning, I collect the shingles scattered in the yard and then Peter nails them back in place when the weather permits. This has only served as a temporary reprieve.

Over the past two years, we have been acquiring the materials to over-roof our house as we have money to spare. Peter bought an air compressor and hoses. He got a nail gun and roofing nails. We picked up a ridge vent. However, the most expensive item was the shingles. We finally saved up enough money to buy all the bundles we need (we hope!) in February. They’ve been sitting on pallets in our front yard since then.

DSCN9248

As you can see in the photo above, the weather hasn’t really been the best for actually installing the shingles. Yesterday, however, as Peter mowed the yard for the first time this spring, he thought the weather was just perfect. He called me at work to see if I could leave early. I was able to use some vacation time to get the best workout I’ve had in a long time.

Over the course of several hours, Peter and I moved at least ten bundles of shingles from the pallet in front to our backyard and up the steps of our deck. The bundles were too heavy to carry intact, so we opened them and carried one-third to a half at a time. Once on the deck, I had to pass sheets of shingles up to Peter on the roof.

If we had done this several months ago, I think I would have crapped out in twenty minutes. Sure, I was breathing heavily yesterday and my arms were sore but I didn’t get winded or experience chest pains. Sure, my arms are still flabby, but I don’t feel as weak as I did months earlier. I could only handle small stacks at a time, but I had the endurance to keep going.

This morning before I even had a cup of coffee, we moved six more bundles of shingles to the deck. By the time you read this, Peter will probably have nailed several more rows in place. I might even be on my way home early again, using vacation time once more to get another practical workout. By the end of the weekend, I hope to have photos of our new roof.

What chores around the house can you use to burn calories? 

 

6 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: raising the roof

  1. Congratulations on getting a great workout while doing a much needed task around the house! I did a small amount of gardening yesterday (digging compost into the garden and planting our winter veggies (leafy greens and fennel at this stage). I’ve also been doing some baking and general cleaning tasks that add to my exercise throughout the day. The food shop is also a big one when I have the energy to help E with it.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

