Musical March: thunderstruck

Is your dog a chicken when it comes to thunder? Actually, are chickens afraid of thunder? Never mind. Let me tell you how my dog responded the other night.

I was sleeping through the thunderstorm on Sunday night until Roscoe stood whining beside the bed. He crammed himself between the frame and my nightstand. I guess he felt safer in a small space. Of course, I had to constantly pet him or else he would whimper.

When my hand went numb, I stopped petting. The dog gave up on me and went to the other side of the bed. Petting wasn’t enough. He jumped up on the bed beside my husband and practically laid on top of him. Now I had two creatures whining.

I stumbled out of bed with my pillow and blanket and beckoned the dog to follow. Since Philip was sleeping on the couch, I laid on the floor so the dog could snuggle up beside me. Of course, proximity still wasn’t enough. I had to pet him.

As the storm began to subside, the dog stopped panting. He put more space between us. When I woke back up an hour later, the dog was curled up in “his” recliner without a care in the world.

I tried to go back to bed, but my husband wouldn’t budge. I slept in Philip’s room for the rest of the night. All two hours of it.

I can’t think of a better song to share.

AC/DC – “Thunderstruck”

What do you have to say about that?

