Fitness Friday: taking a stand

I’ve written before about how much time I spend on my tuchus. One simple change I’m implementing is to stand when I can. I’ll stand up at work to stretch. I’ll stand when I’m only going to be in someone’s office for a minute or two. I’ll stand beside my laptop at home. I’ll stand to read my book.

According to this calorie-burn calculator, I can burn thirteen additional calories for each fifteen minutes I spend standing versus sitting. This bbc.com article explains additional benefits of increasing one’s time on one’s feet.

To keep me inspired, I’ve created a mixtape of songs about standing. Enjoy!

R.E.M – “Stand”

Tammy Wynette – “Stand By Your Man”

The Beatles – “I Saw Her Standing There”

Ben E. King – “Stand By Me”

13 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: taking a stand

  1. Something going on in my little activity world is taking 1-minute breaks of activity (“exercise” being a word of evil). Walking in place during a TV commercial, doing squats while coffee heats in the microwave…all these little moments can escape us, but are the perfect chomp of time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’ve been doing 10-minute workout videos. Well, in some cases I’ve been starting the videos but not finishing because my son needs me or I’m not limber/strong enough to do the exercises. But I celebrate the minutes that I do complete.

      Like

  2. Hey, great post really good read! I’ve just started a blog, I’m 25 and looking to go a year sober, crazy right? I always drink so am looking at the social aspects it’s going to throw up, also health,gym and fitness thrown in there.. Enjoy your day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say about that?

