Fitness Friday: when I look in the mirror

When I look in the mirror, I don’t like what I see.

Not liking what I see in the mirror is motivating me to do something about it, hence these Fitness Friday posts. Of course, I have to remind myself of three things.

  1. When I look in the mirror, I won’t see results immediately.
  2. When I look in the mirror, there may be parts of my body that I still won’t like no matter how much weight I lose.
  3. When I look in the mirror, it can never reflect all of me.

When I look in the mirror, I only see what I look like, not who I am. Those silvery stretch marks? I had those long before I got pregnant. They don’t tell you I’m a mother. Those bags under my eyes? You might guess I’m either dehydrated or lacking sleep or both. Those bags don’t tell you what keeps me up at night. My long straight hair with split ends? You can see it, but do you know why I let it grow? No, the mirror can’t tell you.

When I look in the mirror, I don’t like what I see. I see that my body has gotten bigger. I see my arms jiggling. I could keep listing all of my flaws, but I am not the sum of my physical parts.

This journey to a healthier me is more mental than physical. I don’t have time to dwell on whether my butt looks big. My energy needs to be focused on taking care of myself through nutritious foods and staying active. I need all of my brain power concentrated on making better choices and building healthy habits. And I’ll never see that when I look in the mirror.

mirror 003

Here’s someone that finds joy in looking in the mirror. I think I need to take a page from his playbook.

My story isn’t unique. In fact, I was inspired to write this by Kerri at (Un)Diagnosed and still okay. Go read her take on this week’s Finish the Sentence Friday prompt.

Join My Weekly Writing Prompt Finish the Sentence Friday

Let’s not forget day 12 of NaHaiWriMo. Today’s haiku is about, what else, looking in the mirror.

mirror only reflects
body’s outside not inside –
strengths, will are hidden.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: when I look in the mirror

  1. I think we are always picking on our body parts. At 66 I have begun thanking them (flaws and all) for 65 years of performing their tasks with very few complaints. My knees have a little something to say about the weight I carried around while doing field hockey, basketball, and marathon walks, My skin is getting crepy but is still holding in my veins, vessels and muscles against my bones. My toes are turning, they cramp up at night and the nails are ugly without polish, but I can still walk.

    Give a heartfelt cheer
    Body working wonders still
    I give thanks each day.

    Thanks for Fitness Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love your haiku!
      It is sad that we often view our bodies as adversaries instead of taking care of them or appreciating them. It’s great that you are grateful for your body parts.

      Like

  2. “I could keep listing all of my flaws, but I am not the sum of my physical parts.” What an important message! Yes, what about the volumes of stories inside? Love your haiku! Spot on.

    Like

  3. I absolutely agree that “This journey to a healthier me is more mental than physical.” Because you understand that, I think you will achieve a healthier you. The most mentally sound friend I have, looks in her mirror briefly every morning when she brushes her hair into a ponytail, looks only at her hair, and thinks only about her hair. Then she doesn’t consult a mirror again for the rest of the day. She seems so happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Part of me wants to ignore the rest of my body in the mirror, but I do think I’ve needed to take an honest look at it. Bad habits are what let me put on the pounds, and I ignored what I was doing to my body. Seeing flab where there once was none is a wake-up call.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

