Sunday Slideshow: ice soup

On Saturday afternoon, I took Philip outside to play. His old, beat-up turtle-shaped sandbox resides under our deck. The rain from earlier in the week fell into it and then froze into a sheet of ice when the temperatures dropped. The ice was starting to thaw by the time we ventured to the backyard. I decided to dump the ice on the ground so that Philip wouldn’t get wet.

Philip created a new game with the broken pieces of ice. He picked them up and threw them into the turtle sandbox. He made a sound with each throw. The ice made a noise, too. I added my own sound effects: “boom! thunk! crash!” Philip giggled.

Philip, against my advice, decided to taste one piece of ice.

“Yuck,” was the verdict. I can’t blame him. The ice did have bits of mud on it.

After he had collected most of the ice chunks, Philip began adding leaves and dirt. I guess he was making turtle soup.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Philip once again found a way for us to participate in the Go Play, Go Learn challenge. This time around the theme was ice.

go play go learn badge

Following Philip’s lead, I decided that today’s haiku for NaHaiWriMo should also be about ice:

cold cube in my drink
slick surface beneath my skates
shiny coat on trees

 

5 thoughts on “Sunday Slideshow: ice soup

What do you have to say about that?

