NaHaiWriMo

February starts
NaHaiWriMo commences
shortest month: short poems

I’ve done month-long blogging challenges before, so I thought it would be fun to try my hand at National Haiku Writing Month. Technically, what I wrote above is not a haiku. Sure, it follows the 5-7-5 syllable count rule that we all learned in school, but haikus are more than that. In fact, if you look at the image above, you’ll see that the creators of NaHaiWriMo don’t believe in counting syllables. You can find out more about that here.

I wrote the crappy lines above so that I would have something for today. After, I discovered that the Facebook page for the event offers daily prompts. Today’s word is “zap” if you are feeling brave enough to be brief. Extra points if you leave a comment that is in haiku form.

 

 

2 thoughts on “NaHaiWriMo

What do you have to say about that?

