in the frosty season

Today’s a nipping day, a biting day;
Talk of your cold! through the parka’s fold it stabbed like a driven nail.
Through the hush’d air the whitening shower descends,
Hiding difference, making unevenness even,

Snow air–my fingers curl.
Yet my arm’s round my own little son,
To warm my frozen bones a bit
Some friendly warmth to share.

I should go with him in the gloom,
Before our lives divide for ever,
Resolved for a few days to sport and play,
With tingling cheeks and finger tips.

Frosty mornings, tingling thumbs
“At least we two have had to-day.”

 

Creating seasonally appropriate weather in cento form. The title comes from The Prelude: Book 1: Childhood and School-time by William Wordsworth. 

8 thoughts on “in the frosty season

    1. We had similar weather as I assembled this. Funny how beautiful and magical cold and snow is when one is not suffering through it.
      I just didn’t have another tritina in me for this week, so I went looking to answer the ultimate question in cento form. I got a bit sidetracked, but I have no regrets.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

