the untested blade

I strain to hear because his voice is soft:
“They’re on their way,” he whispers, “best stay sharp.”
I grip my sword, prepared to make it sing.

As we wait, I hear a blackbird sing.
Is that the crunch of leaves ‘neath footsteps soft?
I hoist the blade I honed till it was sharp.

The pain I feel is sudden, deep and sharp.
I try to warn my comrades, but can’t sing –
My gasp alerts no one, it’s much too soft.

Never did soft flesh meet my sharp blade and now my sword will never get to sing.

A tritina for this month’s yeah write poetry slam.

 

 

7 thoughts on “the untested blade

      1. I think your choice of putting that sentence as a question with no action was a good one. I can’t imagine that a seasoned fighter would ask the question, but react to the sound no matter what, yes? That tells a lot in just a few words.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I really like the contrast between sharp and soft, and how both words subtly tell something about the speaker. Really nice shifting of meanings for all three words.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say about that?

