ever after

you’re invited
to my celebration:
an after party
to be held after a while
when the time is finally right
on a sunny afternoon
or maybe after hours.
I’ll bask in the afterglow of
dutifully doing everything I should
and postponing my dreams
until after:
after school
after work
after the kids grow up
after I save money
after I lose weight
I will live happily ever after
in my exciting after-life
(or so I hope to find after all)


I borrowed a prompt from my yeah write NoMo rowmie, Jennifer, who is participating in the November PAD Chapbook Challenge.

This is Day 18 of the NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano/yeah write NoMo challenges.

24 thoughts on “ever after

  1. I love your word play and you present your point in such a relatable and interesting way. You are turning out to be quite the poet, Cyn. Don’t I recall you saying you didn’t do that stuff a while back?

    Like

    1. I had given up poetry after high school. Reading poetry in college proved too intimidating. It’s been fun to do the poetry slams and learn/relearn the various forms, techniques and concepts.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

