Monday Mixtape: where is your heart?

It’s Monday and time for another mixtape!

I immediately heard Janis Joplin’s voice when I read this week’s ultimate question in the yeah write #239 kick-off post: where is your heart?

Obviously, Janis is trying to say “it’s right here.”

“Piece of My Heart” by Janis Joplin

Yet, that isn’t the most obvious musical answer.

“I Left My Heart in San Francisco” by Tony Bennett

What about the less obvious tunes? Well, here’s one about following your heart with your whole self because “I’d rather live in his world/Than live without him in mine.”

“Midnight Train to Georgia” by Gladys Knight and the Pips

Sometimes, your heart needs to escape the rejection, and you drown your sorrows with some booze.

“Margaritaville” by Jimmy Buffett

Sometimes, it is not about romantic love. I remember seeing An American Tail in the theater.  As a young girl, this song choked me up when performed by the mice. Too young to think about love and marriage, I could relate to these tiny creatures with high-pitched voices. Sometimes, your heart is with your family even when you’re not together.

“Somewhere Out There” from An American Tail

It’s Day 9 of the NaBloPoMo/Nano Poblano/NoMo challenge!

2 thoughts on “Monday Mixtape: where is your heart?

  1. An American Tail! That song came straight back to me, though I haven’t thought of it or heard it in sooo many years. 🙂

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

