Have I told you how much I’ve hated the time change?

Friday afternoon I answered the phone. It was Philip’s teacher. Having just seen her the evening before for a parent-teacher conference, I feared the worst.

“This isn’t an emergency,” she assured me. “I just wanted to let you know that Philip fell asleep.”

I could picture it. Last night, I discovered that there are two bean bags beneath the chalk board. I imagined Philip curled up there.

Later, viewing a photo on Philip’s iPad would confirm that I was almost right:

image

Back to the phone call:

“I’m sorry,” I said, “I forgot to send a note to warn you that Philip woke up early. I was so out of it myself . . .” I trailed off. Hearing that Philip was napping flipped a switch. Fatigue hit me and I was immediately jealous.

“I wanted to know if I should wake him up,” his teacher continued.

In my over-tired state, I babbled through the pros and cons for the next two minutes, finally concluding that, it was almost dismissal time.

“No, let him sleep. Better now at school than when he gets home.”

Day 7 of NaBloPoMo/Nano Poblano/yeah write NoMo challenge! I have at least two other drafts all about lack of sleep and weird sleep schedules that have resulted from the end of Daylight Saving Time. I put together this post waiting for Philip to fall asleep Friday evening. After his nap. A nap denied to me since I was grown-upping at work. But I’m not bitter. 

 

9 thoughts on “Have I told you how much I’ve hated the time change?

  1. Oh yeah-I woke up at 4 am this morning, because my brain insisted it was 5 and time to get up. And my kiddos were up by 6:30. The time change sucks!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

