defying formulas

School pictures.

Did you dread picture day growing up? I know I always fretted over what to wear and worried about how oily my straight hair or how frizzy my permed hair would be. As I got older, the threat of ill-timed acne always loomed, and don’t even get me started on braces.

Picture day as a parent brings new anxieties. Will Philip cry? Will he be scared? Will he sit still long enough for a good photo?

PX school picture 2014

I wrote about Philip’s most recent school photo last month. In the post I lamented that Philip didn’t smile, but I was pleased he didn’t cry. One reader got me thinking about my expectations with her comment on the post:

Sabina

November 13, 2014 at 4:14 pm   

Definitely got a bit of concern and a bit of curiosity in his eyes. I like the hands too–school pictures are designed to be formulaic and without a lot of character, but Philip defies that.

You’re right, Sabina. Why would I want a cookie-cutter photo? Your reply gives me new appreciation for Philip’s photo. For that I’m recognizing it as my November 2014 Comment of the Month and adding this to my Couldn’t Have Said it Better page.

Sabina blogs at Victim to Charm. If you haven’t read her blog, you might want to start by checking out her best of collection. You can visit her Facebook page or follow her on Twitter as @VictimToCharm.

5 thoughts on “defying formulas

  1. I’d venture to say the best part about blogging is what you get back from your readers. I know that’s been the case for me. I love Phillip’s photo. I don’t know him at all. But you can read so much about him in his expression and hands, I agree. I see a kid who might step cautiously but who is also compassionate.

    Maybe i’m completely wrong, but it’s cool to have a school picture that does defy the formulas and shows us a little character.

    My only school pic story had to do with the time I had pictures right after recess,when I played a spirited game of football. I was flushed and my hair was a wreck, but I was smiling. My parents weren’t too thrilled though!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say about that?

