Ten Things of Thankful #33

Ten Things of Thankful

1. I’m thankful for my freshly painted kitchen. I helped Peter paint it on Sunday. While I was at work on Monday, he painted part of the living room. We are both pleased with the new color.

new color

The new color is on the left. Eventually, the other walls will be the same color.

2. I’m thankful that it was warm enough on Sunday to play outside with Philip and Roscoe. Those boys need fresh air.

3. I’m thankful that my car didn’t actually remain stuck in driveway on Monday when I tried to leave for work.


4. I’m thankful that my piece “Tomorrow could be worse” was voted into the Top Row 5 at the yeah write weekly writing challenge, plus it was selected as a featured member post on BlogHer.

6. I’m thankful for the package that I received in the mail on Monday. Curious? You’ll have to read my Sunday Slideshow post.

7. I’m thankful to be listening to Oliver Sacks’ latest work Hallucinations. It has been reassuring to learn that hearing, seeing, feeling or smelling things that aren’t there doesn’t automatically make you insane. There are many reasons why people experience hallucinations. One of those reasons is hearing loss. Now I understand why I think I hear sounds that don’t exist. It’s just how our brains work.

HALLUCINATIONS cover art

8. I’m thankful that Philip got to go to school on Thursday. Despite not going to school, he has been verbalizing and using his iPad to communicate, writing his letters, and being crafty. In fact, I felt obligated to get out the glue and tape on Thursday night since he used the iPad to request them. I didn’t want to because he was supposed to be in bed sleeping.

9. I’m thankful that a colleague and I were able to have lunch with our former coworker on Friday. It was so great to see her, to chat, to laugh together, and to eat some very tasty food.

10. I’m thankful I discovered Philip on top of his TV. Actually, I would have preferred that he not climb on top of his TV, but at least I was able to help him down and avoid catastrophe for both television and child.

14 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #33

  1. It is supposed to warm up here a bit this weekend, too. Hoping to get the kids out more, because with it being freezing we have been in the house so much lately. Sounded like a great week and have a wonderful weekend now, too!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love to paint but haven’t done it in a while. My husband hates it and refuses to help and I love to change colors in a room from time to time. Congrats on your yeah write piece. I’m going to have a look once I’m done here.
    I am most definitely curious about the package so I guess I’ll be back on Sunday!

    Like

  3. OW! That last one could’ve been such a disaster! Thank goodness you got there in time!

    Congratulations on the Yeah Write/BlogHer piece – that’s really really cool! I used to enjoy YW, but I just ended up so over-stretched with all the different hops I was doing, that something had to go, and that was it. I miss it. I hope one day I might get back there.

    Nice new colour in your kitchen. It’s good to feel achieve-y and have something really well done, and nearly completed. I hope the rest of the painting goes well.

    I’m TOTALLY intrigued about what was in the package…

    Like

  4. Congrats on all your very cool accomplishments – new paint, the Yeah Write piece, the BlogHer feature.

    Saw several people post about long chats or visits with old friends and/or colleagues this week – must be something in the air. What a great thing to get to do!

    Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  5. lol (at Michelle’s Comment above… ‘he’ll be physically adept when he grows older’ )
    congrats on the feature and the away.
    I love to see fresh paint… the familiar looks new! it’s just that I hate painting…requires way more patience than I have, at least most of the time.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

