Ten Things of Thankful #29

Oh, I do I have some things to gripe about today. I could go on and on. But I don’t think I would feel any better.

On the other hand, if I join Lizzi and her crew to list ten things I’m thankful for in spite of all those things I could do without, I’ll probably feel better. And blessed. So here goes my list of Ten Things of Thankful, the first one for 2014.

Ten Things of Thankful

1. I’m thankful that I had the option of staying home from work on Thursday. I know some people can’t afford to take a day off of work regardless of the circumstances.

2. In a related note, I’m also thankful for the people who work despite the weather and other obstacles because their jobs are essential for the rest of us to live in comfort and safety.

3. I’m thankful we got back the full deposit from the place we were renting. My last pay-day was before Christmas, and that money has to last until I get paid again at the end of the month. Getting that refund is a nice cushion.

4. I’m thankful for my garage. After all of the snow that got dumped on us, it was nice not to have to scrape it off my car before going back to work on Friday.

5. I’m that, even though I forgot to put grounds in the coffee maker on Friday morning, my husband didn’t mention it and just used the hot water with instant coffee. It’s nice not to have someone point out every single mistake.

6. It’s a good thing hubby didn’t complain about the coffee, because I picked up one of his favorite sweets on my way home from work. I was thankful to find chocolate covered cherries on the after-Christmas 75% off clearance rack!

7. Speaking of snacks, I’m thankful that Philip asked for carrots with his iPad, echoed the word, and then took a bite of one. He gave it back to me, but he tried. I’ll count that as progress on both the language development and dietary fronts. Plus, wanting to eat is a sign of recovery.

8. I’m thankful that Philip’s babbling has resumed. It’s another sign that he is feeling better.

9. That being said, I’m thankful that the doctor is open on Saturday because we had to take Philip back this morning.

10. I know I said I wasn’t going to complain, but I need to mention that we took Philip to the doctor because he broke out in hives. But I’m thankful that we found the cause and a treatment before he had a more severe reaction.

18 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #29

  1. I’m sorry your son has been sick and hope he’s on the mend (it’s always something, isn’t it? Give them some thing to cure one ailment and the cure gives them another one!). I read your previous post and love the picture of him. Those cheeks!

    I’m envious of your garage. We only have a carport, and it’s only big enough for one car (the joys of owning an 80 year old house).

    I hope writing the list for TToT made you feel better. It’s amazing how, despite the crappiest of crap being dealt your way, there’s always something for which to be thankful.

    Like

  2. Yes…you’ve really got the spirit (and the point) of this. Well done – I know that when things are hard, these lists are especially difficult, and (perhaps) especially worthwhile.

    I’m glad you know what’s going on with Philip, and that you’ve been able to take time to be with him, to get treatment for him, and to see improvement.

    HUZZAH for your garage and not having to scrape snow 😀 It’s sometimes the littler things which make such a difference.

    Glad to see you here again 😀

    Like

  3. You ma’am are an awesome person. You are still thankful for things, even though your life isn’t 100 percent pleasant. I wish more people could do that more often. :=) I’m glad things are looking up for you, and I hope you have a decent weekend, well..what’s left of the weekend that is.

    Like

  4. One of my favorite things about this hop is the number of times people choose to do it despite their terrible weeks. People are seeing the benefit of focusing on thankful things, and hopefully feeling better.
    Poor Phillip. Sounds like he’s been through the wringer. Hopefully he will be back to his old self soon.
    As I look out my window, watching the snow fall and fall and fall, I have to admit to a tiny bit of jealousy about your garage.

    Like

        1. Whoa-I’m just now re-reading my comment. I totally meant to type hives. I guess I was thinking that his hives flared up. Flares sounds really, really horrible.
          No hives today at all. I think we may be in the clear.

          Like

  5. I’m glad you made it. As big as my own problems are, when my son has them it totally dwarfs mine. Have you read my posts on anaphylactic shock? I don’t know what’s going on with your Phillip and I am sorry you are having any issues, but it sounds like we have more in common than just music 😉 Hope things keep getting better.

    Like

  6. I love when doctors offices are open on Saturdays as well. People have to work during the week so this is a huge plus when picking a new doctor for me. I remember living in that snow and I am with you on being happy about that garage! So nice to see your list this week! 🙂

    Like

  7. I just watched your Sunday slide show, so it looks like your son is on the mend, and that he enjoys his powdered donuts as much as my son does! You are so right – focusing on the things you have to be thankful for does make you feel better than ruminating about the bad things. Hope you have a great (and healthy) week!

    Like

  8. I’m sorry your son has been sick, but was relieved that in #10 you found the source and he is on the road to recovery. That’s good news in itself. You had so many things on your list that resonated with me, but #2 was so sweet. My brother clears snowed roads for his living. So once it starts snowing, he gets up and works (even in the middle of the night) so we can drive. We need to appreciate these people (as well as others) for their sacrifice. Thanks for reminding us of this.

    My previous home had a carport. I loved that carport because it kept bad weather off my car. But we’ve moved into a home with a full-fledged garage with a garage door opener. I cannot explain to you how spoiled I feel. You have every right to shout from the rooftop about your joy of the protection of a roof over your car.

    #5. I need to work on not pointing out mistakes made by others. I really want to improve on this. I struggle with wanting to be right and I hate that quality in myself. I think I’ll make a new year resolution (yes I know it is late to the resolution game, but maybe not too late since it is working on making a personal improvement). This is definitely something that would make my husband happy. Pointing out other’s mistakes is not virtue and I want to do better. Your husband sounds awesome. I want to be like him. Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

