Wildly appropriate

When I published my piece “Please don’t make me boycott you, Home Depot,” I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Encouraging others to boycott a business or organization can open one up to criticism. I appreciated the respectful way in which my readers responded to the post both on the blog and on my personal Facebook page. Not everyone agreed, but they did so without resorting to personal attacks. In this age of “don’t read the comments,” I appreciated that fact.

One reader in particular, Mollytopia, stood out by completely empathizing with our situation:

December 9, 2013 at 9:53 pm

That’s such a predicament – I feel for you. But how wonderful that you have such a neat resource in your neighborhood for your son and your family. That one thing you do together is a beautiful thing – I hope you don’t have to give it up. I’ll boycott Home Depot for you. Only Lowes for me from now on : )

Mollytopia‘s tagline is “Fabulously Refined/Wildly Inappropriate.” For an example of her inappropriateness, I’ll refer you to her post “Dirty Santa and the Hustler Bag.” I also highly recommend her tales about life under the big top.

But her comment on my blog showed just how refined she is. Thank you, Mollytopia, for understanding our situation and offering to fight for the acceptance and respect that my son and other autistics deserve. Your comment has earned you the December 2013 spot on my “Couldn’t Have Said it Better” page.

mollytopia

11 thoughts on “Wildly appropriate

  1. Thank you so much for this! I’m touched and honored to be featured on your blog. And I’ve kept my word on the boycott : ). Big love to you and yours in the new – happy 2014! XO

    Like

    1. Thank you! We took our son to the workshop at Home Depot yesterday. I feel a little guilty about it, but he loves going so much. Plus, he saw one of his classmates, recognized him, smiled and waved. I wouldn’t have missed that moment for anything.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

