Sunday Slideshow: Remember to decline any offers of peanut butter at our house

In our new house, we have a large pantry. The feature was the envy of several of the relatives who helped us move in. I’m quite fond of it myself.

I knew that I liked it, but I had no idea how much Philip would. At our old place, Philip had to rely on us to retrieve items out of cupboards well above his reach. Sometimes, it took a few tries to figure out what he wanted. Now, Philip can just open a door, mull over his eating options, and then select his snack. Philip can either point out his choice to us or grab it himself since I store our small step stool in the pantry, too.

Imagine my surprise last week when Philip gestured to the jar of peanut butter. Philip has never liked peanut butter. I assumed this would continue due to its texture. But Philip decided he wanted to give peanut butter another try. I scooped a tiny bit on a spoon and handed it to him. He stared at it. He poked a finger into it. He opened his mouth and closed it. He opened up again and made to move the spoon into his mouth, and then he stopped. This continued for several minutes. I left him alone, afraid if I said anything, it would distract or overwhelm him. Finally, he stuck the spoon in his mouth.

And then he asked for more.

These photos were taken a week later. Philip no longer wanted me to spoon the peanut butter for him. I know. It’s poor hygiene to eat food directly from the jar. But wouldn’t you let your picky eater do the same if he added a new food to his repertoire?

As a bonus, I even convinced Philip to try the peanut butter on a graham cracker. That was a winner, too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Slideshow: Remember to decline any offers of peanut butter at our house

  1. Perfect! Our oldest had a weight gaining issue. I remember the day she started eating peanut butter with vivid detail. She had her own jar with a spoon for a long time, it was the only way to get her to eat it and it was such a boost for her weight issues!

    Like

    1. Isn’t he though?
      I forgot to tweet you that he also started eating dried cranberries. Good thing because I can’t find the dried blueberries that he used to love. I was forced to buy a bag of mixed berries. He started out by picking out the blueberries, but he finally gave the other fruit a try, too.

      Like

  2. We were so happy that B started eating peanut butter, since he definitely has sensory issues with food. One of his favorite things now is peanut butter and jelly waffles – just came up with one day and it stuck.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

