Your cheatin’ heart

This week’s Twisted MixTape Tuesday theme is cheating songs.

My Skewed View

“Your Cheatin’ Heart” by Hank William, Sr.

I could NOT get this song out of my head from the moment the theme was announced. It had to go into the mix, and I couldn’t name the post anything else.

“Suspicious Minds” by Elvis Presley

Even though he isn’t actually being unfaithful, this song is still about cheating. In fact, his innocence is what makes this song so compelling. That, and I’ve heard it a lot lately since Lilo and Stitch became available for streaming on Netflix.

“Part Time Lover” by Stevie Wonder

Stevie, you naughty man! I guess your wife showed you!

And then a man called our exchange
But didn’t want to leave his name
I guess that two can play the game of part-time lovers
You and me, part-time lovers but she and he, part-time lovers

“All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You” by Heart

Every time I listen, I always wonder whether her husband knows about this brief affair or not. What do you think?

“The Handsome Cabin Boy” performed by Jerry Garcia and David Grisman

I love an excuse to throw in a tune from a Garcia and Grisman album.

This old ballad about a married couple falling for the same person just had to be included in the mix.

The captain’s wife she being on board,
She seemed in great joy
To think the captain had engaged
Such a handsome cabin boy,
That now and then she’d slip him a kiss,
And she’d have liked to toy,
But ’twas the captain found out the secret
Of the handsome cabin boy.

22 thoughts on “Your cheatin’ heart

  1. I went back and re-watched the beginning of the Stevie Wonder vid because of Betty’s comment and got to thinking. It seems much easier to succumb to and get away with cheating since everyone has their own cell phones now than before when you only had your home (or work) phone number.

    Like

  2. I love that you include Garcia/Grisman whenever you can! Perfect choice too. And obviously, great minds think a like, eh? Man and pulling out Part Time Lover was genius.

    Like

  3. You know, it’s funny – I had it in my head that there must be a Heart song for this but I couldn’t figure out what it was. I don’t know why I kept thinking Heart, but it just popped into my head. I’m glad you knew! Great pick. And Suspicious Minds. My husband loves this song. Perfect choice.

    Like

  4. That Heart song is one of my wife’s favorite’s and she plays it so much it worries me. It’s a great story song too.

    I loved the choices here, very eclectic.

    Like

  5. Suspicious minds was initially on my list, I bumped it for “Accidental Babies” LOL. I haven’t heard it in years, maybe at least a decade. I listened last night when I was choosing my pics and now I just listened again here because it’s that good!

    Like

  6. Great choices! Love “Suspicious Minds”! “Part-time Lover” has never been my favorite Stevie Wonder song, but even “meh” Stevie is better than NO Stevie! LOL!

    I had never heard of the Garcia-Grisman collaboration! I’m definitely going to explore that further! Thanks!

    Like

  7. Ahh. There’s Heart’s song… 🙂 I used to sing along to “Part-time Lover” when I was a kid (the tune was so catchy!) I really enjoyed listening to “The Handsome Cabin Boy” (what a twist there!) and “Suspicious Minds”.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

