NaBloPoMo 2013

Last fall I participated in BlogHer’s National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo for short) hosted by Yeah Write. Since it was November, the month we celebrate Thanksgiving in the United States, I decided to write posts on gratitude and things for which I was thankful. The month before, I began a list of ideas so that I would be able to achieve the goal of NaBloPoMo: to publish a blog post every day.

While I think it was good to keep focused on thankfulness, holding myself to the gratitude theme for the whole month was a challenge. I felt like I had to set aside some stories that could have been good in order to keep with my declared motif. I was relieved when it was all over.

This year, I’m taking the NaBloPoMo plunge once again, but I’m giving myself the freedom to write anything. That’s a good idea because we found a house and will be moving. Yup, I think it sounds crazy to commit to this blogging challenge while moving, too. Fortunately, I have a few guest posts lined up that are already drafted and ready to go, so that takes some of the pressure off.

Pressure? Nah, it’s all in my head. The folks at Yeah Write know life gets in the way, so no one is judging if a blogger misses a day. However, they are offering incentives to those who publish every day in November. If you think you’re up to the challenge, join us here. You’ll meet new-to-you bloggers and have a chance to win cool prizes. What are you waiting for?

Look at that: Day 1 complete. Only twenty-nine more days to go.

20 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 2013

  1. How exciting about the house! I like the idea of the theme that you had last year, but I think it’s a good idea for you to leave yourself open to being flexible this year.

    Like

  2. Moving always provides great writing material. Congratulations! I’m looking forward to reading all about it this month.

    Thanks for stopping over at chez Shiftless!

    Like

  3. So validating to hear that someone who has already been through this is also apprehensive. I’m trying this for the first time this year and am a full time teacher…oh so scared! Good luck to you!

    Like

  4. I think I am going to take your advice and draft a list of ideas. Because as of now, my thoughts on what I’m going to post this month are all over the place. I write about relationships (dating, single life, family, etc.) so I have a broad base of material to draw from. Good luck!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

