Heels over head

As soon as Philip started back to school last week, he started doing this:

I joked with Peter, “I guess he’s trying to keep all of the knowledge in his brain.”

Before I began blogging, I often was at a loss to understand behaviors like this. I didn’t know whether to make Philip stop or encourage him. Luckily for me, a friend who reads my blog connected me with Angie Voss. Voss is an occupational therapist and author of several books about Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD). On her website, A Sensory Life, she has many useful pages with definitions, strategies and advice, including this list that explains why Philip needs to do head stands:

Sensory Benefits of Inverting the Head

  • Regulating and organizing for the nervous system
  • Calming or alerting depending on the state of regulation
  • A unique vestibular experience and powerful dose of input
  • Joint traction or compression on the spine
  • Known to stop hiccups
  • Can help a child recover from fight or flight or a sensory meltdown
  • Can help a child avoid fight or flight or a sensory meltdown
  • Supports attention to task, focus, and concentration

Source: http://www.asensorylife.com

These head stands aren’t new. In fact, when looking at my archives I realized that, one year ago today, I published a Wordless Wednesday post showing Philip doing head stands. Apparently, that’s the way Philip handles the transition of going back to school.

headstand 005

Originally posted on September 12, 2012 in “Wordless Wednesday: That’s Using Your Head.” Roscoe, meanwhile handles the transition with longer naps.

If it weren’t for blogging, I wouldn’t have discovered this invaluable resource. If it weren’t for blogging, I might not have kept this picture and noticed this pattern.

If it weren’t for blogging, you would be deprived of all these cute pics of Philip.

*****
In anticipation of my blog’s fourth birthday, I’m combing through the archives to share posts from the past. Thanks for stopping by today, and I hope to see you again in the years to come.

4 thoughts on “Heels over head

What do you have to say about that?

