“Wock This Way” or is it “Ralk Like a Man”?

“Why is he walking like that?”

I asked myself the same question as Peter when I first noticed Philip’s unusual gait. Picture a cartoon cowboy who has just dismounted his horse and moves with his legs apart as if he is still astride his steed. That was the way that I observed Philip walking.

Why is he walking like that?

The exaggerated stance slowed Philip down. When I was in a hurry, I got irritated by the delay. Then I would feel guilty, wondering if Philip’s diaper was full. When I could, I would check only to find a dry diaper.

Why is he walking like that?

I wasn’t asking this as a rhetorical question. It became a mystery that I wanted  to unravel.  Philip’s behavior is a form of communication. I like to make an effort to understand the purpose behind his actions so that I can help or get out of the way, whichever the situation requires.

Why is he walking like that?

I finally figured it out one day when Philip stopped walking, but continued to rock. It suddenly dawned on me that Philip was combining walking and rocking into wocking. Or ralking.

“Why is he walking like that?” Peter asked.

“He’s walking and rocking at the same time. At least he’s still moving forward.”

Forward progress is a wonderful thing.

001

****
Linking up with the Yeah Write #110 Weekend Moonshine Grid. It’s safe to drink up the posts and then drive. Safe travels this holiday weekend as you remember those who sacrificed their lives for our freedom.

7 thoughts on ““Wock This Way” or is it “Ralk Like a Man”?

What do you have to say about that?

