“Nothing about us without us”

At the beginning of the month I wrote about choosing not to support Autism Speaks.

When a friend asked me for resources to which she could refer people with no previous knowledge of autism, I was momentarily stumped. While the advocates I follow on Facebook, Twitter or via blogs are obviously experts, I have enough prior knowledge to jump right into their posts.

I eventually directed her to the Autistic Self Advocacy Network. The header of their homepage reads “nothing about us without us.” I’ve since bookmarked the page so that I can easily refer others to the real autism experts.

****
N is for neurodiversity. Embrace the differences and respect the real experts.
I’m blogging on the theme of autism acceptance as part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.

2 thoughts on ““Nothing about us without us”

What do you have to say about that?

