M is for my Monday mystery

On Sunday morning, Philip and I went to one of our county parks for a hike. As we were entering the woods, I saw this attached to a tree along the trail.

freer field-what is it

I have no idea what this is. I snapped several pictures from different angles.

freer field-mystery object

Does anyone know what this might be? It is a mystery to me.

freer field-hanging

***
Taking a break from my theme of autism acceptance while continuing the Blogging A to Z Challenge. In the hopes that I’ll find a reader who can solve this mystery for me, I’m linking up with fellow A to Z’er Linda Roy’s Monday blog hop. Be sure to stop by and catch the latest installment of her “rockmockery” series.

18 thoughts on “M is for my Monday mystery

  1. I don’t know what it is, but I’m pretty sure if my 7yo boy saw it he would beg me to take it home. Non-stop. Forever. Until it happened, which would probably be stealing.

    Like

  2. Cool! I think it might be3 a part of an old electrical transformer (not the robot kind) My dad was a linesman in the 50’s and 60’s – I’ll ask him if he knows??

    And just like the reader above… I know my boy would want to give it a home and a new life as well 🙂 Love it!!

    Like

  3. Popping back over. I asked my dad. It is what is called a ‘dead end connector’ – which is an insulated cable connector – anywhere from 40 – 100 years old. You could send the photo to a company like GE and they would likely be able to tell you more.

    Like

  4. Good job, Leah! Thanks for letting us know. My husband suggested it was some sort of connector, as well. He noted the broken insulator that looks like a clay pot.
    Cool stuff. Thanks for the mystery, CK!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

