Like Curious George

c

The love affair began with a chance encounter among the discount DVDs.

“Look, hon,” I said to my husband. “This one is only $5.00.”

So it was we became the owners of our first Curious George DVD. When we introduced the charming character to Philip around age one, I had no idea how intimately I would come to know Curious George and his friend, The Man with the Yellow Hat. We definitely got our money’s worth out of that purchase.

You never do know what’s around the bend
A big adventure or a brand new friend
When you’re curious, like Curious George

Early on, before I fully understood his sensory needs, I realized that Philip would only fall asleep with the television on. He reminded me of my grandmother that way, especially since we were using her TV. If I found her dozing in her recliner, and “thoughtfully” turned the TV off, she would wake up. Philip was the same way, but with crying.

Well everything is so glorious
And everything is so wondrous

After that fateful day in Walmart, we’ve gone on to purchase a total of seven collections of the PBS series. I nearly cried with joy the day that I learned that Netflix was streaming all of the episodes.

There’s more to explore
When you open your door
And meet friends like this
You just can’t miss

I love to hear Philip laugh at George’s antics. There is an episode where George performs some snowy acrobatics when he loses a ski halfway down a hill. Philip often reacts to this scene with a deep belly laugh, the kind that ends in a contented sigh.

Get curious and that’s marvelous
And that’s your reward
You’ll never be bored

Just like George, Philip is curious. It’s one of my favorite things about Philip. Even though anxiety often slows him down, once he pushes past his fears he will explore an object or place until he is thoroughly satisfied.

If you ask yourself, what is this?
Like curious, like curious, like Curious George

*****
“George is a monkey, so sometimes he can do things that you can’t do.”

Those words introduce the live-action segments that follow each story in a Curious George episode. I think the same thing could be said of Philip. He amazes me with his drawings. He notices minute details that I completely overlook. While I have a hard time recalling if I’ve already washed my hair when I’m still standing in the shower, Philip remembers the locations of  items of interest even if he hasn’t been somewhere in months.

I could have written about a different C word today: cure. Some people are choosing to use Autism Awareness Month to rally people around their goal of finding a cure for autism. I’ll pass.

If Philip wasn’t autistic, would he have the same personality? Would he still be able to do things that I can’t do? I have no way of knowing. Instead of worry about what might have been, I’m going to accept Philip as he is.

He’s curious, like Curious George.

Reading Easter George

*****
C is for Curious George
I’m blogging on the theme of autism acceptance as part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge.

3 thoughts on “Like Curious George

  1. B’s room has scenes from Curious George (the movie) in his room – a holdout from his nursery days. 🙂 He still enjoys Curious George. I like the “educational” parts after the cartoon, because it teaches science, math, and the environment.

    And now Mayita is totally into Curious George as well. It’s nice to have something that both can sit and watch.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

