Autism Acceptance from A to Z

APRIL-2013-CALENDAR-001

In a moment of temporary insanity, I signed up for a blogging challenge for the month of April: Blogging from A to Z. The co-hosts of the event created the project as a way to inspire themselves and others to develop as bloggers by writing posts every day in April except for Sundays. When Sundays are removed, one is left with twenty-six days, which happens to coincide with number of letters of the alphabet. So, as an added challenge, one’s posts most be based on topics moving from A to Z.

Last year, I blogged every day in April for Autism Awareness Month. I learned quite a bit about autism by setting myself this challenge, and I’d like to think that I taught my handful of readers a thing or two as well.

Since that time, I’ve continued to learn. Recently, I’ve been introduced to more blogs by adult autistics. Reading their posts has really changed my perspective. A year ago, I didn’t understand the difference between autism awareness and autism acceptance. I claimed to be promoting acceptance, but that is difficult to do when one hasn’t actually accepted it for one’s self.

As this April has gotten closer, I started seeing posts by these same adults expressing negative emotions. For many autistics, April is a painful month of being used as tokens, getting inundated by requests to write, speak or appear at events, being bombarded by messages of what is wrong with them, and seeing an organization that they are not a meaningful part launch a marketing campaign for its own benefit that pushes an agenda that adult autistics question.

I began to wonder if I was going to be part of the problem if I repeated my blogathon this April. Would I just be adding to the noise?

I finally decided that it would be possible to blog every day as long as my message was about autism acceptance. I knew I would be writing from a different place than I did a year ago. I knew writing would help me gain clarity into my own biases, help me learn more about autism and be a chance to possibly influence others.

Okay, here is where the crazy part comes in.

I decided to combine blogging every day with the use of the A to Z prompts. I have to tell you, I was feeling a bit sick to my stomach last night wondering if I can pull this off. Would I be able to limit myself with the alphabet prompts AND spread a message of autism acceptance?

Before I committed myself to this, I first did some Googling for the trickier letters of the alphabet (I’m looking at you, X & Z). Satisfied I had found words that could fit my autism acceptance theme, I linked up.

And here it is: A is for autism acceptance. How easy was that for day one?

6 thoughts on “Autism Acceptance from A to Z

  1. I am looking forward to following you through the month. I admit I have met several adults who have autistic children but I know very little about it and look forward to learning through an accepting process. Thanks…

    Like

  2. I’ve never cared much for months celebrating something like this because it tends to do the opposite of what’s intended. People rush out to mark a check in a box, and then forget about it the rest of the year. Sometimes it makes me wonder if the marketing is more important than the goal.

    Like

  3. I’m looking forward to reading your posts about “Autism Acceptance” which I hope that in the near future that “awareness” turns to this. I do want to add that I have had conversations with adults on the spectrum at seminars and they wanted to point out that when they were children the “system” looked very different and diagnosis’s were happening at a much later age. What was done in the 80’s vs the 90’s is very different and approaches have changed and yes there is a lot of bitterness. OT therapy is coupled with SLP’s is the norm which was unheard of just a few years ago. For myself the real sadness is that so many children and parents are struggling to get assistance for their children and young adults the minute they reach a certain age the system will no longer help them.

    Like

  4. I am intrigued and very interested….especially after the part in which you mention how Autistic Adults look at such months and events…
    dropped in from A-Z, but would be coming back for more far much longer..
    Cheers, Ayush

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

