My sick bunny gets a new book

Since last May when the first book arrived in the mail, I have been writing monthly posts about our experiences with the Dolly Parton Imagination Library.

I was looking forward to writing one this month since the United Way, the local sponsor of the initiative, is celebrating the one-year anniversary of the program in our community with a birthday party. I had RSVP’ed for me, Grandma and Philip to attend. Our calendars were marked for this Saturday, my camera was ready and I was anticipating a post-worthy event.

This morning, I emailed our regrets to the event coordinator. Poor Philip has another sinus infection. From the way he looked and sounded last night, Peter and I agreed that he needs to stay home to get better and not share his germs with anyone else.

Just like this latest infection, Philip’s latest book also arrived yesterday. He is now the owner of Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of Peter Rabbit. I know he doesn’t look very excited about it in the first picture.  He had an anxiety-filled visit to the pediatrician in the morning. Despite having been up since 1:24 am, he had barely drank anything. I was happy that he had enough of an appetite to eat a banana. I was happy that he opted to look at his new book while he ate. I was less happy when he tried to smear the last piece of banana on his new book.

I know he doesn't look excited about his new book, but he is under the weather

I know he doesn’t look excited about his new book, but he is under the weather

Last night, after he finally drank more liquids, played in a steamy bath and took a dose of pain reliever, Philip looked a little better. This time, he sat at the table to munch on dried blueberries while flipping through the book. All of the berries went in his mouth and not on the book.

Philip browsing his new book while munching on berries

Philip browsing his new book while munching on berries

I not only look forward to reading the book to Philip, I’m thinking ahead to the day I can tell him about the time I went on a Beatrix Potter mini-bus tour in the Lake District-as the only guest.

That’s a story for another day. For now, I have a sick, little bunny to nurse back to health. Maybe a good book is just what the doctor ordered.

*****
Maybe a little moonshine will help cure him. Let’s find out by linking up to the Yeah Write #100 Weekend Moonshine Grid.

10 thoughts on “My sick bunny gets a new book

What do you have to say about that?

