My Community: a field trip to Home Depot

Thursday morning, Philip’s preschool class met at the local Home Depot. The field trip was part of the current unit on “My Community.” While parent transportation to the store was required, we were specifically told that parents wouldn’t participate.

Since Philip always needs an adult with him, I thought an exception might be made in his case. However, I didn’t really want to use sick or vacation time to go to a hardware store, my mom had a doctor’s appointment, and Peter refused to spend ninety-minutes with twelve preschoolers–even at Home Depot.

I guess I never really know how Philip spends his time without me unless another adult tells me. I’m curious about Philip’s reactions to the visit. I only know that his teacher reported he enjoyed using a hammer and, when Peter picked him up, he was ready to leave.

Philip’s teacher took pictures, but we haven’t received any yet. It will depend on how they turn out. For now, here are the pictures we took of Philip that evening with the items he brought home.

Wearing his apron, holding his tool box. The handle broke by the end of the evening :(

Wearing his apron, holding his tool box. The handle broke by the end of the evening
😦

Dancing with his carpet sample

Dancing with his carpet sample

home depot-carpet square

He also received a paint sample that used as just another piece of scrap paper.

I hope he had a good time. This week, the “My Community” unit concludes with a field trip to one of the local grocery stores. Again, no one from the family will be joining him. I think I should send a note warning his teacher that, since cantaloupes are round like a ball, she should watch out for flying melons.

UPDATE
Here’s a picture that Philip’s teacher took and shared in the newsletter:

3.7.13 tow motor

*****
Linking up with the Yeah Write #99 Weekend Moonshine Grid.

Happy Birthday to Yeah Write editor Erica!

19 thoughts on “My Community: a field trip to Home Depot

  1. I swear Home Depot has become sort of like an alternative toy store for my son now. I am so glad Phillip got to go. I think the hardest part is letting my son do this kind of stuff like this and trusting that he will be okay or have fun etc. I agree the other part that is not easy is the always relying on other adults to give info about our children’s day. I feel like I am starving for this at times…..he looks like he’s having so much fun in the photos.

    Like

    1. It is a challenge relying on others. I know they do their best to contact us about the important things especially considering how many other students there are to report on. Sometimes, I miss hearing about those tiny details, though.

      Like

      1. One of the schools where my son has gone to summer camp and now attends a special social/communication group in afternoons has come up with a quick checklist of goals with symbols so that their teachers can quickly check off and if a child has done something unprompted or prompted in each activity area for that day with little blanks to fill in in case the child did something that should be shared. Because its a check list it makes it easier for the teacher to use especially in an active classroom environment. By having symbols you can show it to your child and try to get them to interact about their day. I am going to share it in a future post because when you have a non-verbal child any info is a window on their world. We pushed hard last year for the regular school to do this and we got something but this year it took longer to convince the teacher but I think we got a better one.

        Like

  2. Cute pictures and if Phillip really liked it — you might consider looking for the free build it workshops on weekends. I don’t know about HDepot but Lowes has them every other weekend. You just sign up on line. I went today with my son. They give you a kit with instructions, a hammer and it’s free. He always enjoys it and it’s fun to watch the other parents and children interacting.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

